open/close

Website Options

Options below affect the visual display. Choices are stored using browser cookies.

  • The low bandwidth option causes most images to disappear and stops external fonts from loading.

  • The underlined links option causes all website links to become underlined, making them easier to distinguish.

  • The high contrast option causes colors to change to mostly black and white.

Utility Navigation

Diving Program

Reciprocity

NOAA Reciprocity Diver collecting photos

A NOAA Reciprocity Diver from the University of Miami collects photos to be compiled into a photo mosaic of a reef near the Florida Keys. 

NOAA divers often work with other partners during diving missions to increase the scope and impact of their efforts.

NOAA divers may only work with partners that have “reciprocity” agreements in place with the NOAA Diving Program. Before an agency or group of individuals can become a reciprocity partner, appropriate checks must be made beforehand to make sure all reciprocity divers understand and are following the NOAA safety standards and are properly equipped. In this way, all divers dive using the same standards and procedures, and can work safely as a team.

NOAA reciprocity agreements:

  • Allow non-NOAA divers to participate in NOAA diving activities, and vice-versa, with minimal administrative requirements.
  • Are established with other organizations only after it is determined their diving programs are equivalent to NOAA’s.
  • Are only applicable to personnel employed and covered for medical treatment and Workers Compensation by reciprocity organizations.
  • Are not transferable to other agencies or institutions that have separate reciprocity agreements with NOAA’s reciprocity partners.
  • Expire on December 31 of the year in which they were established. They must be re-established annually.

Read more about establishing reciprocity agreements and administrative requirements.

Organization

NOAA Sponsor

Certification

Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G)

Kyle Hebert      

kyle.hebert@alaska.gov   

907-465-4228

Pat Malecha        

pat.malecha@noaa.gov

Auke Bay Laboratorie

Scientific

American Academy of Underwater Sciences (AAUS)

Marc Slattery 

slattery@olemiss.edu 

662-915-1053 

Greg McFall 

greg.mcfall@noaa.gov

Diving Program 

 

Scientific 

American Samoa Department of Marine & Wildlife Resources Coral Reef Advisory Group (DMWR/CRAG)

Alice Lawrence

alicelawrence.mpa@gmail.com  

684-633-4456

Raymond Boland

raymond.boland@noaa.gov

Ecosystems & Oceanography Division

 

Scientific    

Bishop Museum

Richard Pyle 

DeepReef@bishopmuseum.org 

808-848-4115

Raymond Boland

raymond.boland@noaa.gov

Ecosystems & Oceanography Division

 

Scientific  


Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) 

William Hoffman

william.hoffman@boem.gov 

703-787-1549

Phil Hartmeyer

phil.hartmeyer@noaa.gov

Thunder Bay

Scientific

Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE) 

Daniel Herb Leedy     

daniel.leedy@bsee.gov    

504-736-2776

Phil Hartmeyer

phil.hartmeyer@noaa.gov

Thunder Bay

 

Scientific

California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW)

David Osorio  

david.osorio@wildlife.ca.gov 

831-649-7195

Steve Lonhart

steve.lonhart@noaa.gov

Monterey Bay

Scientific

California Department of Parks & Recreation (CDPR) 

Kenneth Kramer           

kenneth.kramer@parks.ca.gov 

949-922-4708

Steve Lonhart

steve.lonhart@noaa.gov

Monterey Bay

 

Scientific


Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Bureau of Environmental and Coastal Quality (CNMI BECQ)     

John Iguel    

johniguel@becq.gov.mp 

670-664-8500

Raymond Boland

raymond.boland@noaa.gov

Ecosystems & Oceanography Division

 

Scientific

Coral Restoration Foundation  

Patti Kirk Gross  

patti@coralrestoration.org   

305-906-0105

Sean Meehan

sean.meehan@noaa.gov

Southeast Region

 

Scientific

Florida International University (FIU)                 

Roger Garcia                                                    

garciaog@fiu.edu                                              

305-664-2916 ext.207

 

John Katchenago

john.m.katchenago@noaa.gov

Florida Keys

 Scientific

Florida Department of Environmental Protection (FDEP)    

Jeff Loflin  

jeff.loflin@dep.state.fl.us   

850-245-2312

John Katchenago 

john.m.katchenago@noaa.gov

Florida Keys

 

Working

Force Blue

Patti Kirk Gross     

patti@coralrestoration.org  

305-906-0105

Sean Meehan       

sean.meehan@noaa.gov

Southeast Region

 

Scientific

Guam Department of Agriculture, Division of Aquatic and Wildlife Resources (DAWR)

Brent Tibbatts

brent.tibbatts@gmail.com 

671-735-0289

 Raymond Boland 

raymond.boland@noaa.gov

Ecosystems & Oceanography Division

 Scientific

 Hawaii Division of Aquatic Resources (DAR)   

Paul Murakawa   

paul.y.murakawa@hawaii.gov

808-253-9826

 Raymond Boland   

raymond.boland@noaa.gov

Ecosystems & Oceanography Division

 Scientific

 Miami-Dade County Department of Environmental Resources Management (DERM)   

Rebecca Ross  

rebecca.ross@miamidade.gov   

305-372-6857

Laura Jay Grove

jay.grove@noaa.gov

Protected Resources

 Scientific

Moody Gardens  

Jake Emmert  

divesafety@moodygardens.org      

409-683-4104

Marissa Nuttall

marissa.nuttall@noaa.gov

Flower Garden Banks

 Working

United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Alan Humphrey

humphrey.alan@epa.gov

609-865-4546

 

Greg McFall 

greg.mcfall@noaa.gov

Diving Program 

 

 Scientific

 United States Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)  

Mitch Osborne

mitch_osborne@fws.gov 

907-456-0209

 

Raymond Boland   

raymond.boland@noaa.gov

Ecosystems & Oceanography Division

 Scientific

 United States Geological Survey (USGS) 

Marc Blouin  

mblouin@usgs.gov  

734-657-0690

 

Phil Hartmeyer

phil.hartmeyer@noaa.gov

Thunder Bay

 

 Scientific

Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

Michael Ulrich

michael.ulrich@dfw.wa.gov

360-902-2737

 

Nick Tolimieri

nick.tolimieri@noaa.gov

Northwest Fisheries Science Center

 Scientific

United States Department of the Interior, National Park Service (NPS)

Brett Seymour

brett_seymour@nps.gov

303-969-2993

 

XO NDC

xo.ndc@noaa.gov

NOAA Dive Center

 Scientific

NOAA Diving Emergencies

855-UBA-DIVE
(855-822-3483)
or (satellite phone)
206-526-6986

You are here: https://www.omao.noaa.gov/learn/diving-program/about/reciprocity
Reviewed: February 14, 2019. Contact us with page issues.

*ac
"Access controlled" content.
top